An Ode to Patagonia

Four months into this South American adventure, I must confess that constant travel has left me fairly tired. This fact, coupled with time spent writing for South America Backpacker’s online publication, has left me without a surplus of time or energy for personal reflections. However, I would be remiss to not include a post, mainly photographs, of my month in Patagonia, the most beautiful place I have ever experienced.

In addition, as my time living in Chile comes to a close, it gives me great pleasure to reflect on my gratitude for such a crazy, diverse country that I had the privilege of exploring nearly in its entirety.

In visiting 10 of the 12 regions of Chile, with only the wine-producing Central Valley and Easter Island missing, I was treated to mystical high alpine deserts, snowcapped, jagged Patagonian peaks, enormous, azure glaciers, and ample amounts of empanadas, cheap wine, and buena onda.

Difficulties included a two-month WWOOFing stint best summed up by Jim Gaffigan in the sense of “How much do I owe you to work for you for free? Don’t rip me off I’m no dummy.” Overall I will always remember the friends new and old and the spectacular, otherworldly, fantastical natural beauty of this amazing country. Cachay po weón? Vamos Chile.


  
  
  
  
With love, and happy new year!

Max

Leave a Reply

